Skip to content

Italian Bean Salad

July 9, 2011


I sat here staring at the computer screen for a while trying to decide on what story to share with you for this recipe.

I could tell you about how my sister and I created the recipe while sitting still in traffic on I-95. Creating recipes keeps me from banging my head against the steering wheel.

I could tell you that we made this for the 4th of July and it was a major hit. Really, beans. I wouldn’t lie to you.

I could tell you that I went to the grocery store 3 different times for this recipe because each time I forgot something critical, like beans. I wish I was lying to you.

But really, none of that is too exciting. What’s exciting here is this salad. I used to be sort of indifferent when it came to beans. I ate them because I knew they were good for me, but I never got excited for them. OK maybe this one time. But I never craved beans…until now. This truly is the best bean salad I’ve ever had. And I want to eat it every day for the rest of the summer. Dramatic? Sure, but necessary. It’s that good.

When I used to think of Italian bean salad, salad bars came to mind. The ones that have that standard mixture of beans and tangy, processed Italian dressing. And then I don’t want to think about it anymore. But here, tender cannellini beans, shavings of Parmesan cheese and sun-dried tomatoes are tossed with olive oil, lemon juice, basil and parsley. It’s served chilled and perfect for summer. I can’t stop thinking about it. I can’t stop eating it.

On the 4th we used canned beans, but I made it again using dried beans. You know, the ones I forgot 3 times. I finally soaked them, boiled them and simmered them for an hour….only to find that I really don’t think it’s worth the trouble here. Maybe it’s because the beans don’t simmer in a sauce like these, absorbing all the flavors in the pan, but I really couldn’t tell too much of a difference. Both were amazingly delicious. So just use what you have. Or don’t and go to the store three times. It’s worth it.

Italian Bean Salad

Ingredients:
3 -15oz cans of cannellini beans (or 1-16oz bag of dried beans)
1 block of Parmesan cheese for shaving (about 1.5-2 oz shaved)
3/4-1 cup sun-dried tomatoes, chopped
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
1/4 cup basil, chopped
1/4 cup parsley, chopped
1-2 garlic cloves, minced
Juice of 1/2 a lemon
Salt and freshly ground pepper to taste (I used Kosher salt)

Directions:

  1. If using dried beans, soak, boil and simmer as described on package. If using canned beans, drain and rinse the beans.
  2. In a small bowl, add chopped sun-dried tomatoes, juice of 1/2 a lemon and extra virgin olive oil. Let sit for about 15 minutes while you prepare the rest of the salad. Stir a few times. This will soften up the sun-dried tomatoes a bit.
  3. Combine the beans, chopped herbs and sun-dried tomato mixture in a large bowl and stir. Season with salt and pepper. Add more olive oil if the salad seems dry. Gently fold in the shaved Parmesan.
  4. Cover and let chill in refrigerator for at least an hour.

Notes

  1. If using dried beans, be sure that your beans are totally cooled before adding the rest of the ingredients.
  2. Be sure to taste the salad before you salt it. Both canned beans and sun-dried tomatoes can have added salt, so you may not need much.
  3. My sun-dried tomatoes were not soaked in oil because I wanted to make my own light dressing. I’m sure you could use pre-soaked sun-dried tomatoes and make this even easier by skipping step 2 above. I’d still add some lemon juice though.
  4. Jon wants you to know that he added crushed red pepper and it was awesome. He might start a food blog.
26 Comments
  1. Sissy permalink
    July 9, 2011 1:36 pm

    As usual, Jonny is right. I just had the last of this for lunch and added crushed red pepper and I must say, he improved an already amazing recipe.

  2. Mama G permalink
    July 9, 2011 2:04 pm

    This is why you are my best friend… I just sat down on my computer to look up a delicious bean salad recipe to make for lunch this week! I opened my inbox and you had already created one for me! I cannot wait!!!!
    Miss you tons… August cannot get here soon enough!

    • July 9, 2011 5:46 pm

      Glad I could help! Seriously – come on August!

  3. LindaGeez permalink
    July 9, 2011 3:17 pm

    Thanks for the recipe! I just got all the ingredients! It will go perfect with our grilled meal tonight! I love your blog!

    • July 9, 2011 5:46 pm

      Thanks Linda – Let me know how it goes tonight!

      • LindaGeez permalink
        July 9, 2011 8:12 pm

        Krissy, it was great! The basil was growing on my porch, and the Italian parsley was extra tasty too, but I must admit, the fresh lemon intensified all the flavors! AND, I bought a package of sun dried tomatoes at my favorite little Italian mart that had zesty peppers (crushed peppers) in with the sun dried tomatoes, it was great! My husband even liked it, he’s not at all a fussy eater but I’ve never been able to get him to eat a bean salad like that before! Thanks so much!

        • Marie Hanna permalink
          July 10, 2011 6:23 am

          It sounds like Granny and Jon would get along well. I put red pepper in everything for her. The recipe sounds great and easy. One I will definatley try!!!!!!

        • July 11, 2011 5:44 am

          Linda- So glad it came out great! I was shocked when my husband was eating beans too.
          Aunt Marie-tell Granny I ate my cabbage last night and thought of her 🙂

  4. July 10, 2011 6:10 pm

    I had just finished photographing a wedding last night when I read this post. I looked at my calendar to see how soon I would be able to make this dish. I LOVE LOVE LOVE beans as you know so i couldn’t wait to try it. My mom said she was bringing a side dish to my house for dinner tonight. Luckily, this was it! And it was so good!
    I agree with you about the beans. She had cooked her own beans and while they are “healthier” for you because they are less salty, they can also be a bit dry and require some more liquid (oil?). Also I think mom used SDTs that were dried and not packed in oil, so there you go as another reason for more oil.
    Red pepper flakes are already on the counter ready for tomorrow’s lunch of leftovers. Tell Jon I would read his blog…..

    • July 11, 2011 5:46 am

      Randi! So glad you loved it! The crushed red pepper is a great addition. I’m loving all your wedding posts and just this weekend I thought to myself “Man, Randi is BUSY!!” Hoping to see you guys in the near future! Miss you! Enjoy your beans for lunch 🙂

  5. Shelly permalink
    July 11, 2011 11:44 am

    This was beanalicious!!! I just used the beans I had in my cabinet and the sun dried tomatoes were a perfect addition. I have my go to side salad now thanks to you!!!!! 🙂

  6. Bebe permalink
    July 12, 2011 4:27 am

    Looks delicious. I’ll try the recipe this week. I have all the ingredients, plenty of fresh herbs. The herb garden is going out of control. Decided that I needed to start drying the herbs. I’m on day 3 of processing. I’ll be using this recipe with the dried ingredients, (have from the German store, dried lemon sprinkles) for gift jars. Thanks, Be

  7. Bebe permalink
    July 14, 2011 4:39 am

    Question for all you foodies out there. Which has a longer shelf life, packages dried tomatoes or the oil packed after opening?

    • July 15, 2011 4:16 pm

      I think both would last a while but I’m not sure?

  8. Laurie Shampanier permalink
    July 14, 2011 8:20 am

    Question for the chefs in the room- I am not a huge fan of parm so how do you think this would taste if I use feta instead? Would that taste weird with the SDT?

    • Bebe permalink
      July 15, 2011 4:18 am

      Feta sounds good to me. I like both.

    • July 15, 2011 4:19 pm

      I think feta would work. Maybe shaved manchego?

      • Bebe permalink
        July 15, 2011 5:51 pm

        Ummmm! Shaved Manchego. Lip smack’n

  9. July 18, 2011 12:38 pm

    This sounds amazing- esp with crushed red pepper! 😉

  10. August 15, 2011 6:56 am

    excited to try this!….
    the spice always makes things exciting…
    grazie mille!

    • August 15, 2011 7:58 pm

      Yes the spice is a nice addition here. Enjoy!

Trackbacks

  1. Salami Crisps with Tarragon Dipping Sauce « Make It Naked
  2. Peach Ice Cream « Make It Naked
  3. A year gluten free and I’m not starving « Make It Naked
  4. Mayo-less Chicken Salad « Make It Naked

Comments are closed.